Posted by: Betty | July 19, 2010

How I spent my “summer Vacation” Or Turn Turn Turn

So July’s been busy;

On the 6th we headed up to Sacramento to celebrate Rob’s great achievement; celebrated the next day at Sandra and Steve’s; had a great time with Scott and Lanette; drove home the 101 along the coast, stopped for dinner in Solvang ( a danish town in central CA), stopped off in Murrieta, went to Ricky’s softball tournament near San Diego and came home. Saturday the 17th, I drove back to CA to celebrate Madi’s 11th birthday party and had another great weekend with family in Southern CA.

I got home this afternoon and thought that I’d post to my blog since I have pictures of happy times to post too. Coming of age in the 60’s gave me many things; one of them being the extraordinary music that was the background of my youth. One of my favorite groups, the Birds (sp?) gave me perhaps my favorite song; advice and understanding of how life works… Turn Turn Turn, taken from the book of Ecclesiastics. A time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to …… a time for every purpose under heaven. I am reminded of that song a lot lately and have been many times in my life. 3 weeks after we buried my mother, we celebrated the 90th birthday of Paul’s mom and then a week later celebrated at a wedding in our family. I was reminded of it last winter, while “watching” a fellow blogger, Jose and his family, move forward after the sudden and unexpected death of his wife shortly before Christmas; and thought often of the song and it’s meaning the last couple of weeks; while mourning Adam and Rob, and celebrating accomplishments and birthdays of our children and grand daughter.

Life is hard sometimes; filled with joy other days. There really is a time for every purpose under heaven.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.

Responses

  1. Always love reading your posts, no need to thank us. lol Looking for you in those images but as always you are the one behind the camera. Yes, indeed life goes on and we make the best out of it, always keeping in mind that God is good and that it’s all part of his master plan. I’m still loving singing in the choir and that is keeping me busy too. I am happy to read that you guys are having such a blast this summer.

  2. Glad to read about the happy times too. Enjoyed all the pics. You have been on the “go” a lot lately. Did I read once where you said you are moving back to so cal.

  3. Hey Sandy, No moves to CA planned 😦 . Paul loves AZ too much… Jose… LOL it’s by design that I’M the one taking the photos.. so that I’m not in them!!! LOL

  4. Hey Betty,

    Celebrating is goooood! Looks like everyone is having a GRRREAT time! LoL!

  5. Lovely to see the photos of your happy times Betty 🙂 And good to hear about them too.
    You seem to have the knack of finding time for many purposes and many people.


Leave a Reply

Categories

