Posted by: Betty | February 4, 2010

5 Highlights.

I’ve been tagged by Rudee http://nursingpurls.blogspot.com/ to pass along this meme’.  I”m not exactly sure how this works but I’m going to give it a try. 5 highlights from 2009 and I’ll pass this along to 5 more blogging friends.

So here goes.   Most of my five highlights are about photography and my new past time. From this main highlight, comes many more highlights.

1. I began working with Carla, my daughter in law, and we did  5 weddings together in 2009. It brought me closer to my “son’s wife”. I learned so much more about Carla and I love her so much.. Not so much as my son’s wife or mother of my grand children but for Carla.  Her wit, her humor, her heart, her soul.. Her helpfulness to me in sharing what she’s learned at all her classes.  Her sense of well being in face of pay cutbacks and financial challenges.  Her courage; her strength; (for those who don’t know, Carla is manning the fort for 6 months while Rob is only able to come home weekends due to his new training.  I love Madi and Conner AND I know they can be a challenge if dealing with them alone.  She does an amazing job and keeping her sense of  humor and holding it together at home so Rob can focus.. AND all the while, completing  a college course.  She does make fun of me, A LOT.  But she’s right and I love her all the more for it.  I’m really lucky I get to be her mother in law. It’s really cool..

2. I was at five weddings in 2009; which is really a great place to be. The beginning of a life shared.. Best of all, it was Carla and me who took the pictures – preserved the memories for these five special couples. It was such an amazing experience for me as well as  a very heavy responsibility; to capture the moments, both posed and otherwise that five couples will remember for years.

3. There’s going to be a Frankie in my future. I learned about it in 2009. He’s going to be born in June, I was at his older sisters’ births taking pictures 16 and 11 years ago. I MAY get to be at my new Great Nephew’s birth too.. Either way – 2010 will see me holding this little guy.

4. I survived Katie’s move to Lake Tahoe (she even took Sabby).. In fact, we got to spend more time with our Northern CA family which really was a highlight. We don’t get to see them much but with Katie up there, I was there twice. Katie and Adam survived Adam’s illness, and came back to Phoenix to live, being closer to family. So I get my dream.. At LEAST one of my kids living close enough for me to “drop by” and Sabbs can walk here after school.

5.The world of “ON LINE”  I learned a lot in 2009. I’ve made new friends from my blogging activities. I’ve even met some in person. Jose in Avondale and his daughter Michelle. I learned from their courage and mourned with them in December.  I found old friends on Face book. My best friend from 40 years ago. I’m going to see Marilyn this weekend!!!!  Who’d have thought “ON LINE” would help bring us back to our past. Baby boomers who are finding old friends from 40 years ago. It’s making our world a small town..  I like it.

So now I get to pass this on to five more bloggers.  New friends and old friends.

Carla  at God’s Blessing  http://carlaflocken.blogspot.com/

Jose at Joe Cool’s Blog   http://joecoolsblog.blogspot.com/

Mig at Let out To Play   http://letouttoplay.wordpress.com/

Sandy at           http://dustyducktales.blogspot.com/

Tricia at     http://bluffareadaily.blogspot.com/

Thanks Rudee for giving me this opportunity… and Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.

Responses

  1. You’ve posted some really great high points, Betty. Thanks for playing along.

    You must be a lovely mother in law.

  2. Great fun reading about your highlights in 2009 and kind of cool to know I pretty much read all about it as it was happening in real time. Well believe it or not I’ve never participated in a meme but because I have time and it’s pretty straight forward with not a lot of copying and pasting q and a’s I’ll probably give it a go.

  3. I would love to be able to do the photography work that you and Carla do. That must really be fun. Sounds like your family is really growing also. All in all, it sounds like you had a fabulous year. We can really count our blessings can’t we.


Leave a Reply

Categories

