Posted by: Betty | November 12, 2009

Grey Days

DSC00641

View of Paul’s thumb and The Colorado River near Paul and Ricky’s campsite.

It’s almost, kind of , getting close to, not being hot here in the desert. I’m ready to slap down the perky weather people who are  “sooo delighted  that we’re in the 90’s, here in the valley of the sun”

I’ve been better, MUCH better, but I guess I’ve been worse too so I won’t complain too much.

O.K. On a much brighter note, Paul and Ricky went to the Grand Canyon last weekend.. they hiked it actually.. Ricky was there for Paul…. one insult after another, but that’s how we know he cares.. RIGHT?  Hiking  the Grand Canyon (Indian Gardens) consists of … Walking down hill five miles; sleeping on the ground overnight; waking up, walking another 4 miles down to the river (Colorado River); walking back the 4 miles to your campsite; sleeping on the hard ground, then waking up and walking up hill another 4 miles to the top….. SO.. I don’t go. Last year, Paul, Ricky, Rob and Carla went. Next year, Rob and Carla will go again.  Aunt Sandi met them at the Top and got some pics of the beginning of their trek. Here are some photos taken by Ricky and Paul..

DSC00640

Ricky taking a short break after walking to the Colorado River

DSC00647Paul on JPaul, at Plateau Point about 1 mile from the campsite.. On the way down to the Colorado River.

HPIM0814 copyRicky on the banks of the Colorado River

HPIM0854Ricky’s new sport (Bouldering) … MOM’s NOT into this new interest…

IMG_1907Taken by Aunt Sandi (Paul’s sister… and mine now) at the beginning of their adventure..

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.



Responses

  1. I wish I had the guts to do that but they’ll probably would have to send a rescue team.

  2. I’ve always wanted to hike the Grand Canyon. Someday…

  3. Wow! What an adventure. I have envy but I’m happy for them.
    I hope you’e feeling better 🙂

  4. I hope your and your family have a happy Thanksgiving. I enjoyed catching up, but not sure I would enjoy the bouldering. Did the one week workout to the trick?


Leave a Reply

Categories

