Posted by: Betty | July 27, 2009

Aly ANnie & Robb w tent

This morning, earlier while getting coffee made, the site outside took me back a minute to earlier summer mornings in CA. The sun bathed “gently” the windows and our backyard in Torrance. Dew was on the grass and it was still crisp and cool in the early morning hours. I remember as a very young child my older brother sleeping over night in the tent in the back yard. My mom wouldn’t let me but said I could get up before anyone and go out to the back yard for the morning. I did. I don’t have a lot of memory of that experience other than the sensory memories we hang on to. The cool grass; the sun just so; the dampness of the grass and flowers opening up to greet the day. I remember that vividly.

As an adult, my kids wanted to put up the tent and camp out in the back over night. (this must be some time honored thing). I said yes to my oldest son and his friends and like my mother before me; said no to my girls, who were only 3 & 5 at the time. The next night, I decided to camp out with them so they’d have that early morning experience. We packed the tent with flashlights; games and snacks. We didn’t make it the whole night though… Oh the kids were fine; I got scared in the middle of the night and carried my sleeping daughters back into the house..

Ah, what standing in the right spot making coffee in the morning will take the mind..

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.

Responses

  1. It doesn’t matter what triggers them but memories are priceless and will stay with you forever.

  2. Awww! That’s such a sweet photo!

    I don’t remember ever campin’ out in the backyard – I had 2 older brothers that should have been able to, but I don’t remember them doin’ it either! That’s a shame too, cuz it sounds like a lot of fun!

  3. I have those memory triggers sometimes also. When you get them..it makes you want to write about them. I visited the town I lived in during my teen years yesterday, and that sure sparked a few memories.
    Is the photo you posted with you as a young girl? I couldn’t remember if you said it was or not. Have a great day!

  4. I remember doing the same thing when I was a kid.


Leave a Reply

Categories

