Posted by: Betty | July 7, 2009

Needlework

IMG_4675

Over 37 years ago, I started doing needlework; usually needlepoint; When Robb and Katie were little, I made this for their Oma (Paul’s mom). It hung in her kitchen for the next 25 years or so. After her death, I asked Paul for it and kept it in a box for the next many years. About a year ago, I ran into this and put it on top of my refrigerator. FINALLY a few days ago, I thought I’d put it on the wall in my kitchen. I never thought I should have it up on my wall. I actually rarely have cookies in my cookie jar.. I eat them too fast.

Then a few days ago, I realized this would go up in memory of The great grandmother of my grand kids. She did have a cookie jar and it was HUGE. Thinking of you today Oma

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.

Responses

  1. I love it!

  2. Very cool that you still have this and can enjoy it. I made a cross stitch sampler for my mother-in-law when she was living and we also got it back when she passed. Unfortunately I washed it and haven’t re framed it yet. You just reminded me to do that.

  3. Neat that it has survived all of those years. Its nice to be able to see things and have memories come back with it.

  4. Oh what a keepsake. That is so awsesome you still have it, perhaps one of the grandkids will claim it sometime.

  5. Why don’t you have a cookie jar?

  6. I eat the cookies straight from the package. Why bother with the jar when they’re gone so fast?

    I love you sampler.

  7. Oh, that is so cool! I love it.

  8. So lovely to have a tangible memory of your past to hand on to your grandchildren. They are very lucky.
    and it’s so nice too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

